setting up an inactive daycare

The original catch all. General game help, banter, things you should probably put in the correct forum, This is the place.
thebriamon
Reactions:
Posts: 19
Joined: April 8th, 2019, 10:45 am

setting up an inactive daycare

Post by thebriamon » September 11th, 2019, 3:50 pm

I was perusing these forums recently and came across a thread discussing putting a daycare home into a play rotation, where there could be an inactive home daycare in use for the neighborhood. I didn't even know this was a possibility, so I read what I could to try to implement this into my town, but I'm having a few problems.

I have a lot I've set up as a daycare with the daycare provider. She has the traits she needs, and she is level 5. The house has the playmats mod I read that helps instead of needing cribs for toddlers. I don't have a problem with her running all over the neighborhood during work hours.

Where I'm having a hard time is that I don't know how to get the baby my sims just had over to the daycare. I have the settings in Go Here set to
Allow babies/toddlers to be home alone > false
hire babysitters for inactives > false
use daycare instead of babysitters > true

but when my sims leave the house and the option to call babysitter comes up, I click call babysitter (I had read that once you do that, they teleport to the daycare), the parent leaves the house, but the baby stays home. When I hover over her, it says she's a problem child, lol, but she does not go to the daycare, so I have to bring home a parent to care for her.

Editing to add: When the daycare worker is not home, a babysitter comes to my house like normal. When she is home during work hours, I click the option to call baby sitter, but one does not come, and the baby doesn't teleport. The baby then gets the little label "problem child", and turns from laying in the crib like normal, to laying along the short way of the crib, so that when her parents return home, they can no longer pick her up and I have to reset her and turn moveobjects on to place the crib again, because even after I've reset the baby, the crib says it's still in use.

I'm wondering if there is some obvious step I'm missing. Any help would be really appreciated! Thanks.

User avatar
littlelambsy
Reactions:
Posts: 4129
Joined: October 9th, 2012, 6:00 pm
Answers: 2
Location: Vancouver Island, BC
Contact:

setting up an inactive daycare

Post by littlelambsy » September 12th, 2019, 2:32 am

These are the notes I have that explain how to run an inactive daycare.

1. In Go Here: If "Use daycare instead of babysitters" is set to True, AND "Allow babies/toddlers to be home alone" is set to False, AND there is a daycare provider in town, then inactive residents should use that.

2. Caregiver settings: Make sure the daycare provider is level 5.
Push allow after work = False
Push allow during the day = False
Push allow to party = False
Push allow to work = True

3. When your sim leaves for work and gets the notice to "Call a babysitter" when clicked, the child should teleport to the daycare.
Note: if the daycare provider is holding the toddler when the game tries to teleport the child back home, you could get an error message.

I set mine up this way and it worked for me. Hope this helps :)
University: A New Approach. http://simplemindedsims.com

User avatar
JohnL83
Reactions:
Posts: 890
Joined: July 23rd, 2018, 6:00 pm
Answers: 3

setting up an inactive daycare

Post by JohnL83 » September 12th, 2019, 8:34 am

IDK, it sounds like your settings are fine to me. I do not have the party and after work ones set to False and my toddlers get teleport to the daycare most of the time. But I may change these as sometimes she isn't home, so perhaps that is why? Thanks LittleLambsy! :)

The only issue I've come across once in a while, when they didn't teleport, is if the toddler is still in their cribs. I always have the parent let them out before they leave for work, if they are in them. (I like them in their day clothes too and no one ever changes them out of pj's without help which bugs the living daylights out of me..I'd like my Sims to change out of sleepwear more often too!) Also, they wont always go if the Daycare is in off hours, your Daycare sim often leaves if it's after hours, regardless of other settings. But usually the babies and toddlers will teleport even off hours if someone old enough is at the Daycare. (it doesn't always have to be the worker, spouses and teens will usually help out as well. Though the kid may scream their heads off first.) Again, I'm only going by my experiences. There are a lot of mods and EP's that I do not have that others do and anything can make each game unique.

I also want to point out that the babies teleporting out of cribs very often causes me to have to reset the crib via debug because they get glitched into being still in use and you cant put the kids back into them. So I even leave babies on the floor most of the time too.

So when your Sim leaves for work are they in their cribs? This doesn't always happen though, my babies often get teleported fine out of their cribs, but I have an issue on occasion if they are toddlers.

thebriamon
Reactions:
Posts: 19
Joined: April 8th, 2019, 10:45 am

setting up an inactive daycare

Post by thebriamon » September 12th, 2019, 9:56 am

My babies were in the cribs, so that's probably why that happened, but when I switched households to one that had a toddler and tried it (and I made sure the toddler was not in the crib), a similar thing happened. The parents left for work, I got the popup to call the babysitter, I called the babysitter, and the toddler stayed at home, even though all of my settings were like littlelambsy, and when I hovered over the toddler, it had the little status updates as if it were at the day care, "Alexander would like to have more fun", etc, but was still at my home, the daycare worker was at her home, and his needs kept going down and he wasn't being taken care of. Something is up with the teleporting part, and I don't know what. :(

User avatar
littlelambsy
Reactions:
Posts: 4129
Joined: October 9th, 2012, 6:00 pm
Answers: 2
Location: Vancouver Island, BC
Contact:

setting up an inactive daycare

Post by littlelambsy » September 12th, 2019, 10:24 am

Whenever i have problems with the game, i always do a "fix homeworld" it can't hurt and a lot of times it sorts out issues.
Don't know what else to suggest. I hope you get it sorted out. I know what you mean about the childs needs going down and being unable to fix it. I had a sim that ran out the house, get in the carpool and go to work with the toddler. Her icon showed she was deeply in the red in all her needs and on the verge of death by starvation before dad brought her home. I tried cancelling his work, everything but it didn't help.
University: A New Approach. http://simplemindedsims.com

thebriamon
Reactions:
Posts: 19
Joined: April 8th, 2019, 10:45 am

setting up an inactive daycare

Post by thebriamon » September 12th, 2019, 10:44 am

Thanks. I'll try that and maybe a few more things.

thebriamon
Reactions:
Posts: 19
Joined: April 8th, 2019, 10:45 am

setting up an inactive daycare

Post by thebriamon » September 12th, 2019, 12:49 pm

Bleh. I tried fix homeworld, but it said it had 0 fixes. So then I noticed the daycare worker wasn't at home during work hours (even though I had her in a daycare caste and had the settings that I got from above), so I switched to her and made her go home. I noticed it said she had 5 days off, so I went into MC and deleted those so she was on the clock, switched back to my active house, had the parents leave, and I am still having the same problem - toddler not going to the daycare. She is level 5, too. In fact, actually, even though I have a few toddlers in the neighborhood, no one goes to the daycare. I haven't had a chance to play her yet. Maybe there is something up with the lot? This would be such a neat little thing for my world if I could just get it to work...

User avatar
littlelambsy
Reactions:
Posts: 4129
Joined: October 9th, 2012, 6:00 pm
Answers: 2
Location: Vancouver Island, BC
Contact:

setting up an inactive daycare

Post by littlelambsy » September 12th, 2019, 12:58 pm

Running an inactive daycare can be tricky. Hope someone else has some better suggestions.
University: A New Approach. http://simplemindedsims.com

User avatar
JohnL83
Reactions:
Posts: 890
Joined: July 23rd, 2018, 6:00 pm
Answers: 3

setting up an inactive daycare

Post by JohnL83 » September 12th, 2019, 3:48 pm

Littlelambsy is right, trying to get everything to work can be a real challenge, She knows much better than I btw.

I have not had as much trouble as you seem to be having getting the kids there when the Daycare worker is home. You might also try to do a total reset from City Hall using MC. Sometimes that can work out bugs as well. I don't know what else to try, but one of the experts can better walk you through troubleshooting. I only chimed in because I have managed to have a semi-successful Daycare run by my NA sims. And when things went wrong that is what worked for me. Again, it doesn't always work but for me, when it doesn't, I generally get a babysitter to show up at the home instead. It may be something else is going on? But try the total town reset first and see. Best of luck. :)

User avatar
C-Dark
Reactions:
Posts: 483
Joined: January 5th, 2012, 6:00 pm
Location: Berlin (Germany) Name: Claudy

setting up an inactive daycare

Post by C-Dark » September 12th, 2019, 3:55 pm

I have an inactive Daycare house ;-) and its working good. I also set a daycare caste I assign manually and set in addition curfew, set of traits, skills and a lot more. of course level 5.
Even though I offen saw her mot doing anything or going out - I found out inbetween, when making her active, that she was "suspended" and had to do Penalty Class at cityhall what the inactive did not do autonomously
(so I tuned the daycare xml to less this with kMaxSuspensionsUntilLicenseRevoked which means "The number of times a sim's daycare license can be suspended before it is revoked and the sim becomes unemployed")

I have in addition a second daycare in the same household to "assist" her ;-) and this one will be there forever
Who? I made a Plumbot lady the second daycare and she is really great - she does not age, can even learn the toddlers walking ;-)

Post Reply