How to properly give a Plumbot a human outfit?

The original catch all. General game help, banter, things you should probably put in the correct forum, This is the place.
Post Reply
User avatar
Eclipse
Reactions:
Posts: 10
Joined: July 7th, 2019, 4:13 pm

How to properly give a Plumbot a human outfit?

Post by Eclipse » July 17th, 2019, 5:28 pm

So I want to make an android Sim of sorts. There's guides on how to do this, but they all seem to be outdated since they use MC's Edit in CAS which now opens Plumbot CAS instead of the regular Sim one. So then I tried taking it into CAS with testingcheatsenabled instead. It opened human CAS this time, but there's a slight problem... Its face is invisible. Well, actually, the whole thing was invisible after I changed its age to Young Adult but that was mostly fixable by selecting outfit parts.

Is there a "right way" to do this without the invisible face or should I just put the cardboard bot mask on it and call it a day? :P

User avatar
Chain_Reaction
Site Admin
Reactions:
Posts: 5127
Joined: December 30th, 2011, 6:00 pm
Answers: 12
Contact:

How to properly give a Plumbot a human outfit?

Post by Chain_Reaction » July 17th, 2019, 9:16 pm

I did change the behavior of Edit in CAS to open the plumbot CAS because not doing so was a bug. However I left the testing cheats one alone for this purpose. So, you're doing it as I intended. I'm not aware of the invisible face issue. I know they're not suppose to age so probably young adults don't have bot parts. Is the face still an issue if you leave the age alone?

User avatar
Eclipse
Reactions:
Posts: 10
Joined: July 7th, 2019, 4:13 pm

How to properly give a Plumbot a human outfit?

Post by Eclipse » July 17th, 2019, 9:31 pm

Same thing happens without changing the age. The rest of the body can be changed perfectly fine (regardless of the age) but when I change the hairstyle to replace the bot head, I get floating hair and an invisible face. If I had to guess that's because EA "hides" the face on Plumbot outfits so it doesn't peak through the bot head. Copying an outfit from a human Sim might work as a solution, but the command to copy outfits isn't available for Plumbots. (Or would that mess something up and that command is disabled for a reason? Sorry, just hypothesizing here)

User avatar
Chain_Reaction
Site Admin
Reactions:
Posts: 5127
Joined: December 30th, 2011, 6:00 pm
Answers: 12
Contact:

How to properly give a Plumbot a human outfit?

Post by Chain_Reaction » July 19th, 2019, 8:12 pm

Interesting. Perhaps I made this impossible when I switched the CAS versions around but I do believe I tested it. I'll have to add it to the list for review later.

User avatar
Mandelyn
Reactions:
Posts: 201
Joined: January 3rd, 2012, 6:00 pm

How to properly give a Plumbot a human outfit?

Post by Mandelyn » July 23rd, 2019, 2:08 am

I have made android simbots and to get the face to show up after you put on hair, age them up or down and the face generates. Then you can set them to what age stage you want. Works on mummies that way also.

KevinL5275
Reactions:
Posts: 54
Joined: October 27th, 2017, 6:00 pm

How to properly give a Plumbot a human outfit?

Post by KevinL5275 » July 23rd, 2019, 4:24 pm


User avatar
Mandelyn
Reactions:
Posts: 201
Joined: January 3rd, 2012, 6:00 pm

How to properly give a Plumbot a human outfit?

Post by Mandelyn » July 27th, 2019, 4:59 am

I honestly am not sure on Plumbots, I have only done it with Simbots and that was how I fixed the missing head issues on them, thought it might work on Plumbots also as it works on the mummies as well.

Still-playing-sims3-93
Reactions:
Posts: 12
Joined: June 4th, 2019, 9:58 am

How to properly give a Plumbot a human outfit?

Post by Still-playing-sims3-93 » August 11th, 2019, 12:19 pm

KevinL5275 wrote:
July 23rd, 2019, 4:24 pm
Does this method still work?

https://forums.thesims.com/en_us/discus ... ng-plumbot
I used this some years ago (2016 or 2017 I think) and it worked. It does get a little buggy with female plumbots though(since the time traveler you use as occult state is only meant for a male npc) but it should be fine if she just stays in the same world. I guess it will still work, since EA hasn't updated the game ever since, and iirc MC hasn't changed since 2016 either.

User avatar
igazor
Organizer
Reactions:
Posts: 11891
Joined: April 8th, 2013, 6:00 pm
Answers: 47

How to properly give a Plumbot a human outfit?

Post by igazor » August 11th, 2019, 12:28 pm

Quite possibly not really relevant to the matter at hand, but the most recent update to MC was in Feb 2018.

User avatar
Eclipse
Reactions:
Posts: 10
Joined: July 7th, 2019, 4:13 pm

How to properly give a Plumbot a human outfit?

Post by Eclipse » August 15th, 2019, 5:43 pm

Late response, but I think I figured something out.

Applying the Time Traveler occult *kind of* works, but is too buggy to use in normal gameplay. They can't use romance interactions, traveling to other worlds breaks it, and... probably other issues I haven't discovered yet. And removing the occult after changing the appearance makes it revert back to a regular Plumbot outfit.

I did however discover a method that works a bit better. Applying the Plumbot occult to a human Sim (only works on the Adult life stage, trying to apply Plumbot-hood to any other stage seems to do nothing) then doing MasterController > Basic > Outfit > select an outfit that it still has from before the transformation. Unfortunate that it can't be used on other life stages or on "clean" Plumbots that weren't regular Sims before, though. Which makes me further think that a way to copy a regular Sim's outfit to the bot would be the solution. And could possibly work on other life stages as well, since aged-down Plumbots are seemingly still functional except for the broken outfit. Hopefully you guys can find this information useful for when you have time to work on the mods again. :)

Post Reply