PortraitPanel Is this actually a problem or is this how it's supposed to be?

For all your questions regarding any mod that wasn't popular enough to get it's own forum above.
Post Reply
nobodyimportant
Reactions:
Posts: 14
Joined: March 25th, 2019, 11:20 am

Is this actually a problem or is this how it's supposed to be?

Post by nobodyimportant » May 2nd, 2019, 7:48 am

In every instance of any plumbot being displayed minus the actual sim world, the eye overlay is missing.
Is this normal? If not it's due to a mod, but what could possibly have caused this?
It's not a huge game breaking problem, but it is sortof really creepy to have empty eyes for them in interaction menus, in family portraits, in the portrait panel, and in the portrait picture.....
Image

User avatar
Chain_Reaction
Site Admin
Reactions:
Posts: 5025
Joined: December 30th, 2011, 6:00 pm
Answers: 11
Contact:

Is this actually a problem or is this how it's supposed to be?

Post by Chain_Reaction » May 3rd, 2019, 7:25 am

It could be that specific head but unless EA QA is worse than we thought, that doesn't look normal. Are you perchance playing with reduced graphics settings or an integrated graphics chip?

nobodyimportant
Reactions:
Posts: 14
Joined: March 25th, 2019, 11:20 am

Is this actually a problem or is this how it's supposed to be?

Post by nobodyimportant » May 5th, 2019, 9:12 pm

I mean it is an integrated GPU, but it's not a processor integrated GPU.
As in, it's not an IntelHD something, but an AMD Radeon M series thing
And i never had graphics glitches in the game at all.
My graphics settings aren't reduces, hell the shadows look way better than i expected, which i just noticed a couple days ago.
Reflections are on, etc.
It's also not that specific head. I tested it on all my plumbots and none ever had eyes in the portrait panel and in the menus.
It's the same for my sister too who uses a somewhat different mod loadout, so it's probably not that either. She's playing on a computer with an integrated GPU but it produces better graphics stuff than anything i can get since it's a bit newer.

Also, i could understand the fixed photographing for the portraits in the selection panel and in the sim panel being different from how things are normally rendered, but why is the menu face, which is animated, wearing current outfits and whatnot so different from the normal animation that eyes don't show up there?

nobodyimportant
Reactions:
Posts: 14
Joined: March 25th, 2019, 11:20 am

Is this actually a problem or is this how it's supposed to be?

Post by nobodyimportant » May 17th, 2019, 8:20 pm

No idea? Anyone?

User avatar
igazor
Organizer
Reactions:
Posts: 11521
Joined: April 8th, 2013, 6:00 pm
Answers: 29

Is this actually a problem or is this how it's supposed to be?

Post by igazor » May 18th, 2019, 8:39 am

We can't say for certain why the visuals are doing that to you currently. But at the end of the day, an integrated graphics chip is still that. It doesn't matter if one integrated chip is better or newer than another, without a dedicated card of sufficient strength and with sufficient throughput in play it's just not possible to rule out the impact.

We aren't EA here of course, but their take on it even back when the game was in develoipment would be that if the game plays in some manner on lower end hardware, then that itself is quite an accomplishment.

nobodyimportant
Reactions:
Posts: 14
Joined: March 25th, 2019, 11:20 am

Is this actually a problem or is this how it's supposed to be?

Post by nobodyimportant » Yesterday, 9:03 pm

This wasn't lower end hardware though.
The problem is that i can turn visuals way up and it won't hurt the game much, but the eyes never get displayed.

User avatar
igazor
Organizer
Reactions:
Posts: 11521
Joined: April 8th, 2013, 6:00 pm
Answers: 29

Is this actually a problem or is this how it's supposed to be?

Post by igazor » Yesterday, 10:45 pm

I did not say or mean to imply low end hardware. I said lower, a comparative, meaning that any integrated graphics chip is lower-end than a dedicated card that carries its own vram would be. You may feel free to disagree with that diagnosis as you wish, but am afraid given the number of views this thread has had, I'm not seeing a lot of other explanations for what you are experiencing flowing in.

Maybe I misunderstood what you meant by integrated, though. Which exact Radeon M series chip and processor are we talking about?

Post Reply